everything is okay- mantra for the morning.

Morning, chickens!

The sun is shining here, which is a massive improvement, and despite the fact that NPR just told me it’s 9 degrees with the wind chill, I’ll take this as a step in the right direction.

I’m trying not to remember how deliciously warm it was last year during this week, but so far, it’s not working.

We’ve got a few days here to warm up at least a little bit.

I’m running late this morning, due to the fact that I decided to hit the yoga mat bright and early this morning.

Yoga in the morning is tough with my stubborn joints, but I like to think that pouring some good energy into all of the parts that don’t quite work helps them out.

Plus any day I can start out in a headstand is a day that’s gonna be positive.

It’s a proven fact.

yogamat
morningneighborhood

 

Other things of note: last night I attempted a run for the first time in several months.

It was a disaster.

I couldn’t even find the gym at my building, which should have been my first sign that things would take a turn for the worse.

Instead, I wandered around the floor, pretending that visiting the freight elevator was a normal, post-6pm activity on a Tuesday night.

Eventually, I stumbled into the correct door, and got down to it.

 

My knees were heavy, my breath was labored, and I could only do short intervals of running before having to stop and walk.

I tried to remain un-frustrated, which was near impossible, as I reflected on the fact that I was finishing 6 miles easy at this point last year.

That doesn’t mean I’m not trying again.

My legs will take me where I want to go eventually, chickadees.

I can slow it down until then.

1 Comment

Filed under Chicago, Did I really do that?, Near Disaster, Reflections, Running, Yoga

One response to “everything is okay- mantra for the morning.

  1. Good luck with your running! You’ll get there!

Leave a Reply

