thoughts on life unarmed.

Morning, chickens.

I don’t know about all of you, but waking up to another morning of rain is a little disappointing.

I’m trying to remember that the rain will ultimately make the spring greener, but that’s a little bit hard to focus on at the moment.

Common sense and past experience have their limits, too.

Luckily, it looks like things are clearing up for the weekend, and for that, I will be thankful.

But only a little bit.

On another note, after a long hiatus from reading (no, I don’t know why, but it’s strange and boring and also, I think I have a library book that’s several months overdue sitting in my living room), JW delivered this into my hands:

carryonwarrior

 

Momastery is a blog that I’ve been reading for awhile, and while it’s at times a little too.much for me, it also makes me laugh hysterical. Glennon, the blogger, is a former addict turned mother of three who basically writes about life, which she admits can be both beautiful and brutal (brutiful, she calls it). And this book ties up her story into one package that I can read all at once.

It’s not the kind of thing I would normally read, although it is the kind of thing my high school self would have been all over.

And since I often think high school Nikki maybe had the right idea about most things while right.this.second Nikki struggles a little bit more, I went with it.

It’s making me laugh out loud on the train.

It’s so much better when people just come right out with the things about them that might make others cringe a little.

If you’re looking for something fast to get through that reads like a series of short stories and will also make you chuckle in public AND feel better about all the faults that you inevitably have, pick this one up.

And with that, I’m off to read in the rain.

It makes the rain a little more bearable, chickens.

Leave a comment

Filed under Chicago, Good Reads

Leave a Reply

