and hope everything is gonna turn out all right.

People run for a lot of reasons, chickadees.

We run to feel warm.

We run to be healthy.

We run races, I think, to feel like one big community of endorphin energy.

We run because it’s hard, because we’re inspired, because we want to feel so good when we’ve accomplished something.

We run to impress people we have and to remember people who we don’t.

What happened in one of my favorite cities  yesterday at the marathon is in complete conflict with the whole damn point of the world of runners.

I don’t know who hurt all those beautiful bystanders and accomplish-ers.

I do know that those kind of people are few among many, and I also know it doesn’t make it any less tragic, and it doesn’t make me less angry.

In a sort of numb panic, I sent e-mails to the people I loved in that direction, crossed my fingers, and cried a little when I received replies.

I cried more when I realized that for some people, people who were as anxious and worried and breath-holding as I was, replies wouldn’t come.

My God, chickens, sometimes this world is a sad place.

Then, while browsing social media sites looking for more updates that said hey guys, I am okay, I came upon this, and it kept me breathing.

mrrogers

Chickadees, remember that when those explosions went off, people didn’t just run away.

People ran into it.

At the end of the day, I think that most people are engineered down in their bones to run into it.

I’ve seen a lot of chatter about how the world isn’t safe, how anything terrible can happen at any time, and how people are roaming this world just waiting to ruin the rest of us.

But chickens, we’ve always known that.

That’s part of what makes this whole thing so beautiful. We are fleeting, but we are more good than we are bad, we are filled with more love than we are with hate, and people will inevitably start to talk about the helpers and the miracles and all the memories of the people we lost, because as humans, that is what we are built to do.

In the cocoon of tragedy, it’s so easy to forget how strong and smart and amazing we all are.

As runners, as a city, as a country, as a world.

No amount of displaced hatred or violence is going to take that from us.

Let’s run into that today, if we can.

 

3 Comments

Filed under Reflections

3 responses to “and hope everything is gonna turn out all right.

  1. “That’s part of what makes this whole thing so beautiful. We are fleeting, but we are more good than we are bad, we are filled with more love than we are with hate, and people will inevitably start to talk about the helpers and the miracles and all the memories of the people we lost, because as humans, that is what we are built to do.”

    That is lovely, my friend.

    The finish line has always been one of my happiest experiences- of a job well done, of a new distance I’ve never ran before or a new PR, of strangers cheering on strangers, of excited friends and family and tears of joy and excitement. It hurts my heart to know this experience has been damaged by such an act.

  2. Thanks pal- I’ve been thinking of the joy and community races bring us, and I am so so so sad that anyone on this earth wants to insert violence into that.

  3. Yes, it was amazing all of the people that ran into the devastation. If there was any sign of good to come out of this tragedy that was it.

Leave a Reply

