adventures in making it work

Good morning chickadees!

Making it to Wednesday wasn’t so bad, right?

I didn’t think so.

Over here in North Center, we’re still having a problem in which there is not hot water.

It turns out that when you own something, you can’t just call the landlord and demand hot water as your right.

I tried getting demanding with JW, but it didn’t seem to work in the same way.

And my water’s still cold.

Let’s be serious, chickens. I would have been a really shitty pioneer, so this isn’t working for me.

Yesterday, having no hot water didn’t seem so terrible. I was working from home, so I could skip the shower, since the only people who had to lay eyes on me were furniture delivery men (turns out they didn’t mind my unwashed hair) and JW, who probably was only paying attention to the crazy things coming out of my mouth.

But this morning was going to be a problem for the following reasons:

1. I have to actually walk into my workplace.
2. If I didn’t wash my hair, there was a good chance I would be mistaken for a homeless person.
3. I have to go see my rheumotologist today. My assumption is that she’d prefer to check out my joints post-shower.

So I implemented a plan and went to sleep.

When I woke up this morning, I noticed it was only 5:00 am, and also, that it was loud in the condo.

JW.

Hey, I’m going to go shower at the gym, he said to me.

Sucker, I laughed to myself.

He’s always got the more rational method.

I woke up at 6:30, filled my largest pot with water, turned it on low, and went back to sleep for 20 minutes.

After which I proceeded to “shower” standing in the bathtub with a Chirish Miller Lite mug, using one part warm pot water and one part cold shower water.

I maybe laughed out loud the entire time.

Maybe I wouldn’t have been such a terrible pioneer after all, chicks.

Leave a comment

Filed under Did I really do that?, Near Disaster

Leave a Reply

