turning a page.

Morning, chickens!

I’m so glad to be hitting this Thursday morning, since it’s my last work day of the week.

Not that I want to brag.

Last night, I headed to kettlebells, where I did literally 3000 push-ups, 8000 lunges, and more goblet squats than I can recall.

I needed it, you guys.

Also needed: book recommendations.

For a number of reasons, including a new iPhone that allows me to peruse social media on my commute, and a fine at the public library that has my account on lockdown, I haven’t really been up on my reading lately.

Which means, chickadees, that I’ve been maybe getting a little dumb.

It all came to a head for me several weeks ago, when I realized that I was obtaining most of my news from a tiny screen flashing headlines on my elevator ride to my desk.

Yikes.

I promptly went home and hunted my shelves until I found a couple of books I actually hadn’t made my way to just yet.

First up, I started The Big Burnwhich combines my love of the following subjects: Theodore Roosevelt, Montana, conversation, and the turn of the 20th century.

Also, it’s largely about the phenomenon of wild forest fires- a fascinating subject.

the-big-burn

After finishing up, I was able to locate another gem without dragging my feet into the library and paying my shameful fee of $10.

I’m about 2/3s of the way into Drift, Rachel’s Maddow’s book on the evolution of the US’s military and the government’s evolution of how we get ourselves into war.

This one’s not an easy one, but it’s certainly informative, and extremely interesting to see how we’ve shifted the power of who gets to decide how we mess with other countries.

drift

 

So chickens, what’s everyone else reading this summer? I’ve got a couple more titles up my sleeves, but I’m determined to get more of my reading done outside of that elevator.

Small steps, you guys.

Leave a comment

Filed under Did I really do that?, Good Reads

Leave a Reply

