i wonder what it’s like to be the rainmaker

Morning, chickens!

We’re right back at the beginning, it seems.

This was a beautiful weekend, filled with the farmer’s market, the beach, and hanging with my favorite teens and babies.

It’s always sad to see the weekend say goodbye.

beachscene
nightdog
sunflowers

 

Also this weekend, I’m back on the reading circuit, which means I spent all of Sunday in a beach chair, devouring a loaned library book MC let me borrow.

I still haven’t managed to handle my fine situation, so I’m actually now at the point where I’m borrowing borrowed books.

Which I promise to return on time.

In any case, last week/weekend’s big reads included Bernadette, Where did you Go?, which is a hysterical/fast book about a traumatized architect who can’t bear people in general (aside from her daughter and husband) and is confronted with a trip (a cruise!) to Antarctica. What ensues is both hilarious, slightly disturbing, and crazy. The book’s written mostly in letters, e-mails, and faxes, which makes it even more interesting to read.

bern

 

As for my borrowed, borrowed book, it’s called The Interestings, and I zoomed through almost 500 pages in 2 days.

It was that kind of a weekend, chickens.

This book starts at an arts camp in the 70s, where six friends dub themselves The Interestings, head back to New York City (and the suburbs) to continue their lives, and the reader gets the chance to follow all the paths they take (or are handed) over the next 30 or so years. The characters were interesting, the writing was good, and what happens to everyone’s not easy, but that seemed realistic. I only wish I had another few decades of book so I could find out what the rest of the cast’s lives look like- this is a good one to pick up before summer ends.

9781594488399B.JPG

 

Reading is so much better than not reading, chicks.

I don’t care how nerdy that makes me.

And with that, I’m off to the busiest week I’ve seen in some time- I’ll report back from the trenches.

Enjoy the sunshine if you’ve got it!

Leave a comment

Filed under Chicago, Good Reads, Weather

Leave a Reply

