a night out and another run around the sun

Happy Friday, chickadees!

We made it, we made it, we made it.

This morning, I’m up early, trying to get in the office to be productive before fifteen days of not being in the office.

Being separated from my cubicle for so long gives me  slight bouts of anxiety, but upon further thought, that is lame, and I’ll be over that as soon as I’m wheels up.

Right?

Last night, JW and I headed out to finally see Book of Mormon before it closes today.

It was maybe the funniest thing I’ve ever seen.

I cackled the whole time.

If you missed this, you should probably go wherever it’s going next and check it out.

bookofmormon

 

Also, chicks, because tomorrow is Saturday and so you likely won’t be hearing from me, I had to get this one in today.

Aus is turning sixteen tomorrow.

A far cry from this long ago photo, and you guys, this wasn’t even the littlest I’ve ever known him as.

auskd

 

And now, in the blink of what I am sure was just this one eye, this is what we’ve got:

nikaus

 

I am self aware enough to know that I spend an inordinate time talking about a pair of teenagers and their baby brother, but you guys, nannying Aus and KD for a year was definitely the best career choice I’ve ever made.

Aus is probably one of the most hardworking and level headed kids I’ve ever met. He’s also goofy, tells a great story, makes me laugh every single time I see him, and (begrudgingly) still talks to me even when I slip up and scream “Run, baby, run!” as he rounds the bases.

I’m just so damn proud of him, chicks, I can’t help it.

Aus is the kind of person who has unbelievable grace for someone his age- I don’t know how else to explain it. If something doesn’t go his way, he dwells for about three seconds, reworks his plan, and moves on to the next thing , focused on the bright spot and ready to conquer the world.

I’m still trying to figure out how to replicate that, but I suspect that it’s just part of who he is.

So on your (sort of terrifying for me) sixteenth birthday, my red-headed devil, I could not be more proud to be your friend (babysitter, fake underaged mom, emergency contact, pretend aunt, etc.) for the past nine years- I can’t wait to see what you get to do next, baby.

Sorry, couldn’t help that one.

Leave a comment

Filed under Reflections

Leave a Reply

