sweet home chicago and a few thoughts on nyc

Morning, chickens!

I’m back from my 15-day long journey, after staying in seven homes/hotels and six cities for a little over two weeks.

And now, I’m home, where I hope to hang for some time.

JC, Ky, and I spent the last three days of our trip in Brooklyn, exploring new neighborhoods, finding cute restaurants, and meeting up with pals who just happened to be in a position to cross our path.

I love nothing more than crossing paths with people I love.

However, after a fun-filled, laughter-intensive few days in a city more populated and more well known than my own, the girls and I had just a few pieces of advice for the city that never sleeps.

jenkynik

 

So, in no particular order, just a couple areas of opportunity:

1. We know that there are millions of people in NYC. And that you want to keep your establishments clean. But it would be awesome if we didn’t have to panic every time we were out and about and needed to find a bathroom.

And once we found one, there was usually a line, due to the fact that the city prefers to dole out their bathrooms one single stall at time. Pack those suckers in, you guys.

2. In Chicago, when you get into a cab, you give the driver a couple of cross streets, and he either intrinsically knows exactly where to head, or pulls out a GPS.

During our stay, every time we got into a taxi and let the driver know where we were going, he shot us a puzzled look and asked us to google it for him.

Like the three of us know anything.

3. Sticking with transportation for a second. Heading into the subway is a scary thing, and not because I fear the public transportation.

I love the public transportation.

However, busting eighteen levels underground into what seems like the bowels of NYC with no visible maps and no cell phone service is a bit intimidating.

Especially when your navigator is doling out one instruction at a time.

That’s a separate issue, though.

A couple giant maps and I promise, I’d be all set.

4. Your reputation would jump about 100 points if you could just find a way to get your trash out of the street. I volunteer to rent equipment and bulldoze a few alleys in the name of aesthetics. I promise, you’ll thank me later.

That’s not to say, chickens, that I don’t recognize the beauty of the city (for example, the bagel and pizza selection isn’t even a fair fight), we just think with a couple of tweaks, it could be a cleaner and friendlier place for the masses.

In the meantime, I’m headed to get reacquainted with my own digs.

Enjoy the sunshine if you’ve got it, chickadees!

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Good times, Reflections

Leave a Reply

