a few observations on the last day in it.

Morning, chickens!

This Friday morning marks my last work day in 2013, which is certainly a cause to celebrate.

Read: I can’t wait to bust out of the office today.

I’ve been busting around the internet all week, since it’s something I can do comfortably from my couch (I need a lot of couch time right now, chickadees: this baby allegedly weighs the same amount as a coconut, which means that sometimes I’m tired from hauling the coconut around all day), and I have found yet another ridiculous, disturbing story I feel the need to comment on.

I know this means I’m giving attention to something not worth it, but man, you guys, some things make you really scratch your head.

I’m talking about the crazy comments the Duck Dynasty guy (note: I’ve never seen this show, so I don’t know anything about these people) made in GQ that got him suspended from his reality show.

The comments were ridiculous–that part seems simple enough to me. Hateful, obviously. The part though, that’s really making me laugh/cry for humanity is the part where people are actually defending this guy and getting mad at A&E for suspending him.

What?

We’re serious?

I keep hearing all these cries about your rights to free speech and how this is some kind of war on Christians.

Let’s back it up for a second.

First of all, yes, everyone has a right to free speech. I can say whatever I want, and thank God (or Buddha, or just society), because I think that’s a top notch right.

However, as an adult operating within the bounds of American society, I also know that what I say could have consequences. Not legal ones, because again, I have a right to say what I want, but man, that doesn’t mean I get to keep my friends or my reputation or my job if I go around saying things that offend whole segments of society and common sensibility.

I thought everyone got that. I thought it was actually pretty self explanatory.

Maybe not if you’re Sarah Palin.

Further, I would like to mention that being Christian is not compatible with being judgmental or hateful. I know that’s not what we’re seeing out there in practice a lot of the time, but it doesn’t mean it’s not the truth.

So yeah, dude, you can call yourself an opinionated Christian, but mostly, you just turned out to be a bigot with a big mouth and no more reality show.

And what kind of person are you if you want to defend that guy? Defend his right to have a crazy, hateful, backward opinion if you want, but don’t defend his right to say it and be looked at or treated the same way as he was before he said it.

I’ll climb down off my soapbox now.

It’s the holiday season, chickens. Let’s focus on all the things we like about each other instead.

Enjoy this one.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Chicago, Reflections, This makes me crazy

Leave a Reply

