a new heart for a new year, always.

I’m a little late this morning, chickens.

But alas, I’m still showing up, and I think that’s more than half the battle.

Welcome to the last day of 2013.

This has been, for me, a pretty full-up kind of year. Some years are the kind when you know, you feel like nothing really happens that’s earth shattering, but you know there’s been some shifting.

And then, there are years when everything 12 months ago looks different than it does now.

I’m leaning toward that kind of a 2013.

And I’m not complaining about it at all.

This was a year that I headed out to spend good times with my best pals, had every bit of fun I could get my hands on, house hunted, condo purchased, work traveled, and headed home to find out that lots of things were about to change.

I had a new baby nephew, watched my pals V&J add a beautiful baby girl to their family,  went to one million concerts, got to see almost every single person in my big, beautiful family, laughed my head off, learned that ignoring RA and hoping for the best was not a treatment plan, learned that pregnancy is a temporary one, which has been an awesome side effect, and started to get ready for the next big adventure JW and I have on our hands.

You can see for yourself, it was a good year.

But then, I’m a firm believer that if you look hard enough, most of them are.

I don’t have any resolutions for 2014 yet: I’m better at making it up as I go. My plans usually stay the same from year to year: be healthy, even when it’s not perfect. Be happy, even when it’s not easy. Read more books, laugh as much as you can, cry when you need to, and work as hard as you can to come out the other end loving the same people you loved when you started the year.

2014’s gonna be another big one, chickadees, but if you think about it, they all really are. Enjoy the sunshine, and this last day before the start of something new.

IMG_0079
jenkynik
tobin
960166_10100608231106981_1563182011_n
tobsam
jwsammy
auskdbus
6713_10100605157421671_1924861430_n

Leave a comment

Filed under Reflections

Leave a Reply

