bypassing the bus wait.

Morning, chickadees!

Apparently the weather is planning on hanging at above 0 degrees today, which I am eternally grateful for, so I can’t really complain.

Last night, post a later-in-the-evening appointment downtown, I decided it was time to have my first Uber experience, because the prospect of waiting for the Irving Park bus for more than exactly 30 seconds was causing me angst.

For those of you who live in an Uber-less city, it’s basically an app on your phone where you can request either a guy and his car, a taxi, or a black car to come pick you up, all for various prices.

I picked the taxi option, just to be safe. Although some of my coworkers assured me the guy and his car were very nice and safe, I erred on the side of that sounds just the tiniest bit sketchy (even though I know it’s likely not).

Anyway, what I’m trying to say is that I’m now obsessed, because you request a ride, and it shows up in three seconds. Uber stores a credit card for you, which means when you reach your destination, you just get out. No awkward panic tipping (does anyone else do that? I end up tipping so much extra because I suck at adding in a rush), and no fumbling for cash or card.

I’m obviously sold. And I know I’m late to the party (at least in Chicago), but in case anyone else is too, Uber is my new jam.

If only I could use it for the daily commute.

Up today: not too many meetings and one more night hanging with the dogs and the teens, who finally went back to school today after two days of lounging around inside. Our plans include pizza and who knows what else, because really, teens and dogs can be unpredictable.

Which is why we like them.

Enjoy this one, chickadees!

Leave a comment

Filed under Chicago, Weather

Leave a Reply

