turning new pages.

Morning, chickens!

T and I are relaxing on this thunder-ish morning, which means Raffi Pandora until Theo fell asleep for an early morning nap.

You guys, I’m pretty excited that I now have a good excuse to listen to as many children’s folk songs as I want to without feeling weird about it.

Not that I really felt bad about it before.

Anyway.

Today, aside from one more good day of visiting with my grandma, it’s book club night.

As previously mentioned, my friends and I abandoned the idea of actually making everyone read the same book, because it turns out that we were pretty bad at that.

Instead, we gather at someone’s apartment, open up bottles of wine and boxes of crackers, and tell each other what we’ve been reading over the last month and why we did or didn’t like it.

Kind of like a live Goodreads.

With wine and without the Internet, so, better.

This month, I’m affirming a couple of things that were recommended to me, but I’m also mentioning the latest book I read, which has made me feel some feelings, but admittedly, I liked it. I submit to you, tiny beautiful things Advice on love and life from Dear Sugar.

tinybeautifulthings

This book suggestion was actually given to me by my pal AB when I ran into her on the el right before T came along. She said it might be good at this point in my life because it’s essentially a book of advice columns, so it’s broken into short, sweet little bursts.

She was totally right. Dear Sugar is an advice columnist from The Rumpus, an online publication, and this book is a collection of her thoughts on readers’ love and life issues. She deals with heavy things and light ones, and her writing style makes it feel like you’re chatting with a friend (an intense, sage friend, but a friend nonetheless). This one, which I found online, was one of my favorites (note: it’s explicit, and might make you feel uncomfortable).

Dear Sugar,

WTF, WTF, WTF? I’m asking this question as it applies to everything every day.

Best,
WTF

In any case, if you’re looking for something that’s not-a-novel and also not-Russian-revolution-history (which is where I was), this is a good pick.

And with that, I’m off to get this one started.

Enjoy the sunshine if you’ve got it, chickadees, and send some my way while you’re at it.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Good Reads

Leave a Reply

