we are how we treat each other and nothing more.

Sorry for the break in the action, chickens.

Thursday, JW and I found out that his (mine and Theo’s too, though) amazing, silly, loving aunt Mimi had passed away.

So we’ve spent the past four days in Michigan with family, celebrating Mimi, telling stories, and trying to figure what we’re going to do without her.

Mimi loved good (and bad) jokes, her family, and being Irish.

The first time I met her, I was in the middle of an argument with JW at his cottage. We were 19 and dramatic about nothing most of the time. We weren’t even dating yet.

I was in the middle of a sentence when I looked over JW’s shoulder and noticed that someone I’d never seen before was looking at me from the next house.

Through binoculars.

“Jon, there’s a woman looking at me with binoculars,” I said, backing away slowly.

“That’s my aunt Mimi,” he said, without even checking, and then turned around.

She smiled and waved at us.

That was my aunt Mimi.

Mimi was in love with her friends and family, and she never let a visit go by without telling me how happy she was that I was her niece, and how much she loved JW.  Theo too, on our last trip She loved people with an intensity that the rest of us can probably only try to reach for.

This weekend, after toasting Mimi with a beer and a straw (her personal favorite), her daughter L asked us to all listen to this song, because it is my mom, she kept saying.

She was right. And we are all better for having known her.

mimi

 

1 Comment

Filed under Michigan, Reflections

One response to “we are how we treat each other and nothing more.

  1. Chris

    What is the song????

    Sent from my iPad

    >

Leave a Reply

