my favorite age is now.

Ok, chickadees, today’s my birthday. I’m solidly in my 30s now, and while I wouldn’t say I’m good with it, I don’t really have a choice, and also my bffs gave me a lecture on how collectively, we’re good with it.

I will point out that they haven’t hit 31 yet, but they’re right.

This was a big ride around the sun for me, because I became a mom, which is pretty much the coolest thing you can become, based on the amount I’ve learned and the fun I’ve had so far. Boo’s right behind me with a birthday, and I can’t wait to celebrate him.

Aside from Boo’s arrival, I think the biggest realization that I had in year 30 was that just because I became a mom didn’t mean I stopped being anything else. It’s an add-on benefit, it doesn’t strip you of your (misplaced) love of tequila shots or important friendships or mean that you’re somehow less of a person and more of a title.

I’ve been Nikki for all 31 years I’ve been here.

I’m happy about it too, because I think she’s a pretty fun lady, almost 100% of the time.

If I can get one thing to Theo (and any potential siblings he may have) in the next few decades, I think this year has shown me the important lesson I’ve gotten yet:

We’re all just doing the best we can. None of us are sure we’re doing it  quite right, but if we had it all figured out, we’d be bored. Let’s help each other out, because guess what? It doesn’t cost me anything to be nice.

And that, my friends, is something worth celebrating.

IMG_0334 nikjenkyphoto (33)

1 Comment

Filed under Reflections

One response to “my favorite age is now.

  1. Chris

    Happy birthday Nikki!

    Sent from my iPad

    >

Leave a Reply

