say, say, say, ain’t it been some kind of day

You guys, it’s weird and spring-like out there, and even though I guess it’s March and that is what it’s supposed to be like, it is making for a very odd week around here. Here my observations on why:

1. I went back to running on Tuesday, after a week off for planes and travel and meetings and Xanax and fries. It was rough, obviously, and for some reason I felt like the only way I could get through it was to listen to Pitbull Pandora, which is something I would never do. I cannot tell you the number of times I heard the word “WORLDWIDE!” shouted into my ears as I struggled to make it three miles on the treadmill. Whatever, I did it, and maybe it was the beat.

2. All of a sudden Theo has started walking. Like, actually walking and not just making a game out of shuffling three feet between JW and me. There is no explanation for this except that babies are strange creatures and one day they are babies and the next they are full grown men and you don’t even see it coming.

3. All of Chicago is a giant mud/trash puddle, and because it’s above freezing, I do not care one bit. I have been walking home the mile from the train at night, without a giant coat, and in the light of the day, and although it feels bizarre, it also feels very, very good, like something great is about to show up. But first, I need to get some rain boots.

4. I was in PowerPoint hell yesterday, which meant it was important for me to have good music. I listened to Blessid Union of Souls all day and pretended that it was was 1999 and I was doing a book report full of sweet clip art and it actually made me feel better.

And with that, I’m off to move through one more day that lands me closer to the weekend. Enjoy the sunshine if you’ve got it chickadees, and the warm-up weirdness.

Leave a comment

Filed under Reflections

Leave a Reply

