five good things: it’s the anticipation edition

Morning, chickens.

And let us all breathe a big sigh of relief because we have successfully made it to Friday, (mostly) in one piece.

That’s definitely something.

And because I don’t know about you but for me this was a really long, sort of tough one to get through, I could probably use a few good things, and there are plenty to go around, let me tell you that.

Here goes:

1. Since it’s about to be double conference day around here, I’ve been dedicated (ahem, obsessed) with my FitBit. My RA is touch and go, but something I can almost always do is put one foot in front of the other, and so it’s been my goal to hit 10,000 steps a day every day between now and the end of my conferences (easy in a giant convention center). Last night I realized I was going to miss the mark, and so instead of flipping to another episode of the Sopranos (yes, I’m pretending it’s 2006 here), I threw my sneakers on and took a quiet, cool walk through my neighborhood in the dark.

It was lovely, and I have another notch in my steps record.

2. I have this entire weekend before I even have to start thinking about the fact that I leave next weekend. This means two free days to get my act together, play with Boo, and hang with JW before wondering what I’ve gotten myself into, again, and whether or not I have the appropriate amount of clothes to get me through my trips without pausing for laundry.

3. Yesterday I wrote my sister that I was having something of an “Alexander” month over here, which is a reference to one of our favorite books, Alexander and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day, and is code for things aren’t going so hot, please tell me a joke. Fast forward to today and because Theo expects several stories before retiring to his crib, I pulled out my own copy of Alexander and made myself feel much better reading about how we’re all vulnerable to occasional string of bad luck.

My mom says some days are like that.

Amen, sister.

I’m just glad I didn’t get gum stuck in my hair.

4. Things Boo does this week that he didn’t last week (also known as: Babies are Crazy): Speak Spanish, Climb backwards down stairs, hug Longfellow Tiger (not just stomp on his face) and turn doorknobs.

I wish my learning aptitude was set at Baby Speed.

5. Today’s a day with almost zero meetings, which means plenty of potential to get.things.done, chat with funny people, walk outside away from my cubicle, and hit an early happy hour with my team in preparation with what I’m sure will be another kick ass conference.

I hope you’ve got as much good spilling into these next few days as I do, chickens! Enjoy this one!

Leave a comment

Filed under Five Good Things

Leave a Reply

