cutting right through it.

Listen, Linda (if you don’t know about Listen Linda, please click here).

It was a lovely weekend even though it rained because the Hawks won (Yesssss!!!) and Theo did downward dog and we got to hang out with our family and I played in a soccer game.

And then JW told me that Beau Biden died and I got really sad, because it is really sad, and he was 46 and had babies (listen, Linda, all kids are babies, even when they’re teenagers), and man, hasn’t Joe Biden had enough sadness, no matter what you might think of him (for the record, I think anyone who can smile that wide is awesome).

I clicked around Twitter for awhile, trying to find something that made sense about all of it, but of course it doesn’t make sense and so I found nothing. Except this article, which is about what Joe Biden has to say about grief.

And you guys, he’s totally right. In this insane world where it’s considered noble to be so busy you can’t think straight and you’re judged as admirable if you put your job before everything else, it’s important to remember that it’s all pretty much bullshit to really believe that, I think.

You don’t have to agree with me. But when you read that article and you think about what’s fleeting (which is everything, guys) and you think about what’s important, I dare you to come to any other conclusion.

This man, who’s lost a son, a daughter, and a wife, he gets it.

The fact that he can smile at all is really a miracle in and of itself, if you ask me.

So this week, before I head into the belly of the beast, I’m focused on what’s important and how watching Boo laugh his tiny head off is better than anything that’s happened at work, ever.

Enjoy this one, chickadees, I know I will.

Leave a comment

Filed under Reflections

Leave a Reply

