Five good things: the three month break edition

Morning, chickadees! I’m sitting on my couch writing this post from my phone because I have two kids now, you guys, and as you may have assumed from my lack of posting, it’s been a little crazy around here. Yesterday I headed back to work, and Ellie headed off with Theo and Gio to Alma’s (our daycare provider who is the most important person in our family), and in the absence of sleep, I thought five good things might be an easy way to get back at it. Here we go:

1. JW took the day off yesterday to get us on schedule for our big day. Even though I know I am the type of person who was not made to stay home, it doesn’t make the first day easier, and this way at least I had time to stop for a Starbucks while wondering if Ellie would hate me forever for sending her to daycare. Jon promptly sent me this photo, and again, I counted my blessings that my kids are so well loved when they’re not with me (also, Ellie, you’re a traitor for not even being one iota sad- JK):


2. Over my maternity leave, much like last time, I became illiterate. I don’t know why, it just happens when I have a baby. This time though, I started listening to podcasts so I could maybe learn something besides how to keep two humans alive, and my favorite one is Presidential by the Washington Post. I have a lot of good summer memories of pushing Ellie, watching her cackle while I learned about what a perv Warren G. Harding was. Each episode covers a president, and it is entertaining and also made me realize it’s effed up a lot of the time here in America, chickadees.

3. Speaking of US history, we scored Hamilton tickets in Chicago during my leave. JC and I hunkered down in my living room with two babies and four devices and yet it was JW who came through with the successful order. I don’t care though you guys, I just want to be in the room where it happens (in March, with this terrible joke).

4. Boo has become a tiny human in the last three months. He loves to be a super hero, tell you that Obama is the president, and runs full speed pretty much 95% of the time which also means he’s covered in bruises 100% of the time. He’s also the worst back seat driver in the world and I can’t wait until he’s sixteen so I can return the favor (I can wait, never grow up).

5. Today my Austin is headed off to college in Michigan. It seems like yesterday he was a sort of unruly six year old who danced to High School Musical in the kitchen (to be clear, he probably still does), and once told me to pull myself together in a movie theater because I cried too much during Where the Wild Things Are. Listen kid, you are smart and kind and funny and I’ve never been so proud of anyone and I’m probably going to cry all day, but because I’m so happy for you. I’ll eat you up, I love you so, red-headed devil.  I can’t wait to see what you do next.

And with that, chickens, I’m off to try to nurse a sleeping baby, brush a toddler’s teeth, and stuff two kids in the car in an attempt to get to work on time. Despite all the added craziness, let me be clear: things got a whole lot sweeter this summer too. Enjoy the sunshine if you’ve got it.

1 Comment

Filed under Chicago

One response to “Five good things: the three month break edition

  1. Grandma g

    You are a great Mother and will do a good job. Keep the faith. Give Theo and Ellie a kiss for me.

Leave a Reply

