What a weekend…

Ok, so it’s the holiday season here in the Second City, which means a lot of things. Twinkling lights, thousands of American girl bag toting tourists, sub-freezing temperatures and most of all, holiday parties.

Which basically means alcohol.

This also means that I spent the entirety of the weekend drinking, eating things that really shouldn’t be consumed by humans, and going to bed at ridiculously early hours.

Oh, did I not mention that none of this was the more socially acceptable nighttime drinking? Well, it wasn’t. And in the words of my friend M:

“There’s a reason you drink at night.”

Oh, she is so wise.

So, first up was Saturday’s annual T-box bar crawl.

It started before 10:00 AM. By 10:00 AM I was wearing a Christmas tree sweater and antlers.

There are no better pictures, because no one was in good enough shape to take them.

In any case, I was dressed rather mildly in comparison to my 7000 other bar crawlers.

There was, I kid you not, a straight up flock of penguins.

In any case, I left the bar crawl at 5:30, after having more Miller Lite than I care to say, and then went home and slept for several hours. I woke up at midnight and ate some cheese fries that JW was kind enough to bring to me. I vowed to never drink again and went to sleep.

Then the next day, I headed to an annual Holiday brunch with my friends. All was well, because brunch is an innocent medley of pastries, bacon, and other assorted foodstuffs.

Except, this one involved expertly made Bloody Marys by Allison, and then some sloppy mimosas made by me.

I had a flashback this afternoon at work in which I recalled pouring both champagne and vodka into my glass.

I’m not even sure there was orange juice involved.

Here she is, brewing the delightful drinks which are the reason I must give up drinking.

We also did fun things, like conduct a White Elephant and play Uno.

Oh yeah, we ate brunch too.

Friends with their new gifts!

Brunch for all.

We rounded things out with a little Uno.

In any case, at around five, I came home from this Round 2 pretty tipsy.

I’m a repeat offender.

However, during the parts of the weekend which I most vividly remember, I am glad that I was surrounded by my friends in this season of the holidays.

But next time, I think I’ll stick to Diet Pepsi.

Hope everyone’s had a good Monday- I’m on the mend here, and anticipate an improvement once I get myself to the Y tomorrow morning to sweat out any residual vodka and cheese fries.

It worked in college, so I’m reapplying the process. It’s what you’d call a best practice.

Leave a comment

Filed under Good times, Near Disaster, Reflections

Leave a comment