Daily Archives: June 19, 2014

summer pages.

Chickens, I admit that I fell asleep watching The West Wing at 8:15 last night.

To be fair, Theo set the tone of the evening by passing out at 6:30, so it was just an early one for us.

I also admit to you that I’m listening to Raffi sing about bath time making him feel like a baby whale louder than I should be this morning.

It’s a new life I live in, chickadees.

I don’t hate it.

Theo’s currently gumming a whale rattle in his crib, so basically, everything’s right in the world.

*****

So I’ve dug into my pile of summer reading on the train, and I’ve already finished The Good Daughters by Joyce Maynard.

I started in on Maynard’s Labor Day and have making my way through all of her books. I’m in this weird place (or have been, for a couple of years) where I start in on a topic obsessively, like Theodore Roosevelt or the last Russian Tsar, and when I finally come up for breath I’m exhausted.

So this summer, I’m trying to take a few pauses for fiction in between. I like the way Maynard writes, good and fiction-y without complicated sentence structure or plots that are too chick-lit-ish for me. The characters are messed up, but you can relate.

I mean, I can relate.

They only take me a couple of days to race through though, so by mid-week, I’m onto my next venture, which is Sugar, Salt, Fat: How the Food Giants Hooked Us. I have a feeling I know what’s coming, since it’s about the industrialization of food in America and how the major food companies are woven tightly into it and we can all guess how this ends, but it’s a good reminder to stay away from the processed options even though I’m busy and have to be in bed by 8:30.

I’ll keep you posted, chicks.

What’s everyone else got on their list this summer? I’m looking to round out my “to read” shelf on Goodreads!

Leave a comment

Filed under Good Reads