the pesto rests.

It’s another beautiful day in the Second City.

And I’m headed straight for my cubicle.

And it’s only Wednesday.

This hardly seems fair to me.

Life’s not fair, is what my mom always tells me.

So I’ll spend the day in my cubicle, I guess.

Last night Ky and I bent our bodies to the will of Jillian Michaels and her crazy yoga yet again, and although I think I’m vastly improving, I think I also might have pulled something in my back trying to bend into that godforsaken Camel pose.

Mine doesn't look like this, but you could see how injury might be my expertise in this pose.

Nothing a strict diet of Advil can’t fix.

Which I hope works, since I’m scheduled to try this all again this evening.

Otherwise interesting on this sunny day: Smitten Kitchen’s pea pesto has been tackled.

Fresh pea season only lasts for a couple of weeks in Illinois, and Ky and I are big enough cooking nerds to text each other upon its first sighting at the Farmers’ Market, and to then buy it every week until the season is over.

Which means that Smitten Kitchen’s post could not have come at a more perfect time, because although eating fresh peas like candy from the carton is delightful, it’s always good to mix things up.

The consensus was that it was delicious.

The consensus was also that something got lost in the transfer of the pesto to the pasta, and that it might actually be better as a crostini topping.

Either way, it was delicious, and is now gone.

Also, in case you were wondering, it’s pretty much the easiest thing in the world to make, even when your cooking partner decided to toss the uncooked peas into the food processor instead of the cooked peas, which is what is actually supposed to head into the bowl.

At this point you shrug at each other and discuss whether or not two minutes of cooking followed by a dunk in an ice bath can really amount to anything anyhow.

The conclusion was probably not.

And with all the pesto eaten up, we’ve really got no one to build an argument against us.

The pesto rests, chickadees.

 

 

2 Comments

Filed under Chicago, Good times, Reflections, Things that are delicious, Weather

2 responses to “the pesto rests.

  1. If anything, maybe the extra uncooked peas gave it a burst of something “new and intriguing”.

    I would have done the same. Whatev.

  2. Pingback: Weeknight Dinner: Pea Pesto « Garlic My Soul

Leave a comment